Learning about rocks – Amethyst

The Ernest Shirley Fossil Museum

David Denson- Curator

West Goldbar Ave, Goldston, NC 2725

919-356-0102

Today, I visited Mr. David’s Fossil Museum.  I took my seven bags of rocks that I found at Hiddenite and he and I sat in the floor and went through each one.  He told me what the rock was and I labeled them in bags.

The best part of the day was that I was able to donate two rocks that Mr. David did not have in his museum collection!  He gave me four rocks that I didn’t have.  One (you won’t believe this) is dinosaur doodoo.. as in POOP!).  He also gave me petrified wood,  selenite, and a summer field geo rock.  The coolest rock he gave me was a pumice that floats in fresh water.  I think it is the only rock that floats in fresh water.

The first rock I’m going to learn about is called the amethyst crystal.

An amethyst crystal is transparent, which means:  allowing light to pass through so that objects behind can be distinctly seen. It is also coarse-grained and the purple kind (which I have).  I can not really see through mine, but I can see light when I look through it.

The chemical formula for it is:  SiO2. This purple crystal is the most important quartz used in jewelry.  (hey, My mom’s name is Crystal). The hardness of the rock is a 7.0.  The range goes from 1-10.  I believe the only 10 is a diamond.

All amethyst are suppose to be purple.  They can be all shades of different purples.  (we saw one that looked green on line.  We aren’t sure if that really is a amethyst, though).  The purple amethyst is sometimes called, “Rose de France”.   The most valuable amethyst is the ones that have deep purple with rose flashes.

Amethyst is found in lots of places.  Some places are in Europe, Russia, India, Sri Lanka, East Africa, Brazil, Mexico, Uruguary, Bolivia, USA, and Canada. In America, it is found in North Carolina, Maine, Pennsylvania and Colorado.

Some Facts about Amethyst that I find interesting are:

The Greeks carved wine glasses (called goblets) out of amethyst because they believed that if they drank wine from that goblet, it would not let them get drunk.  (I don’t think I believe that!).

Amethyst was used in the British Crown.  It was a favorite of Catherine the Great and the Bishops from the Catholic Church uses amethyst on his ring.  It is thought to encourage celibacy and symbolizes piety.  Some rosary’s are made from amethyst.

The emblem for Matthew, one of the twelve apostles, is amethyst.

It is also mentioned in the Bible as a stone used in the breastplate of judgment.

In Tibet, amethyst is sacred to the Buddha monks.

It has been used for jewelery for thousands of years.

The amethyst is the birthstone for people born in February.  It is also the gem that symbolizes the 17th year of marriage.

Leonardo Da Vinci  (I read about him in the Magic Tree House Book), believed that the amethyst took away evil thoughts and made a person a quicker thinker.

In Egypt, they made beads and good luck charms called, amulets.

Today and long ago, people are still using amethyst for many health reasons.  Here are a few reasons to use them:

To cure addictions, like drinking, smoking or other addictions.

To put under your pillow for better dreams and more clear thoughts.

To help relax or focus.

I’m going to put one under my pillow to see if I have wonderful dreams tonight.  I will let you know what happens!

If you have any more thoughts and comments to add to my blog, please feel free to teach me more about amethyst.  Also add me as a follower, because I will be learning about all the other rocks I have, one by one!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About dannywillett7

I am 7 and in 2nd grade. I like to go camping with my mom. I always try to take my bicycle. We are camping in all of the cities that start with the letter "A" in NC right now.
This entry was posted in rock collection and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Learning about rocks – Amethyst

Leave a Reply

